Dreamation 2016 Review

Welcome to Cthulhu Mom Games – a blog about my experiences raising a gamer child.

 
We just got home from Dreamation 2016, so recently that I’m still trying to shake off the exhaustion and Yog and my husband may be incubating the dreaded con crud!

 
Of the two Double Exposure conventions we attend Dreamation is the smaller, but not by much. It runs a day less and they have access to a little less space in the hotel, but again, not by much. Though it is amazing what not having access to three ballrooms can do to space needs!

 
I ran a well-attended seminar on improv tips for character development in larp and hosted two sessions of a not so well-attended Family Game Table. Not so well-attended translates into only Yog and I were there. We hung out for an hour and chatted with a few people as they popped their heads in. There are always people wandering about trying to find a room or person in a room. I spent our session on Friday finishing the organization of our Legendary box (labeling deck dividers). The entire time I kept asking Yog to play a game with me and offered to set up any one of the games we brought. She decided to play “Skully Dice”. Alone. At least I was able to finish up a project.

 

I decided that I would try a different tactic on Saturday. I started by talking to Yog during breakfast in our room about what we were going to do when we got to the event space. I had decided to set up Flashpoint and hope that she would play and that the game being on the table would attract other players as they stopped by. She told me that she would play a game with me if someone else was there. Repeatedly. I stuck with my plan and started to set up Flashpoint, all the while being told I was going to play alone. Though I have played this game many times I have never set it up. My husband will often set up a game as I’m finishing a chore, so this is definitely an area in which I am generally lacking. Luckily the directions for this game are well written. And I had Yog with me. She agreed to help set up the board, while still insisting that she wasn’t going to play. I handed her pieces and directed her where to place them on the board. Then we got to placing doors on the board. I thought they would go on the door icons, not the icons with two blocks printed in the circle. Yog informed me I was wrong. I looked at the instructions again and she was right! I was sad to have not read the instructions correctly, but proud that she knew how to set the game up herself. I played through by myself with Yog handing me more and more smoke tokens as the game went on. I lost, which I had assumed would happen from the beginning, but not as horribly as I had thought I would. Yog had a brief time out when she continually played with the extra pieces in the box despite being asked not too. There was pouting and then she rejoined me at the table to help smoke me out of the building. She then helped me clean the game up, which I was proud of since she hadn’t really played.

 

While the event was not a grand success, I was able to use the experience to teach Yog about hosting an event at a convention. We requested a badge for her this year as I felt it was time to start teaching her some of the ins and outs of how a convention really works. She was great at wearing it, which I was worried she would complain about at some point. Prior to an event the person running it is responsible for checking in with the operations desk and picking up the event tracking form. Yog carried the paper to the room and returned it to the desk for us both times, on her own. It was really quite cute how serious she took the process.

 
I was discussing the lack of attendance at the Family Game Table with my friends over the weekend. We are wondering if there are fewer children at Dreamation due to the timing. Many older children are in school on Friday and it’s possible that arriving for a 9 am game slot on Saturday is not possible for them. I also think I need to work on the program description. When I talk to people at the convention and explain to them what I am running, they think it’s a great idea and wish they knew before they had signed up for something else in that slot. I am hopeful that I will be able to try this event again in July at Dexcon and that I will be able to find the proper description.

In case you are curious here is the description I used this time around:

Bring the family to the table! This is an opportunity for parents to squeeze in an extra game and for older children who want to try more challenging games to play together. Younger children will also have space to share their favorite activities and games. Join fellow gaming families to play one of your favorites. Several options will be available in the room, but feel free to bring your own selection. We will choose a game with a shorter play time to allow for slower game play while parents tend to their children between turns. Please note that this is not a babysitting or drop off service, but a great opportunity to meet other gaming families.

 
This is different from what I wrote for Dexcon in July, but still doesn’t seem to embody what I am trying to get across – a space for parents to play a game while parenting their own children. Playing with people who will understand the interruptions that are inevitable when children are playing a game or in the room while you play. It’s possible that I’m offering an event that isn’t desired. I hope not. If you have any suggestions on how to refine the description, feel free to comment.

 

Yog also took part in some cosplay on Saturday, wearing her Batman costume all day. She was very excited to walk around, but was very adamant that she wasn’t really Batman, just Yog in a costume. She garnered a lot of attention and I got to not be sitting in a hotel room with a hyper four-year old, so I think we both won.

 
When playing a board game or table top role-playing game at this convention you are eligible to earn points that you can spend at the prize table. My husband and I combined our points and gave them to Yog to pick something out. She chose a game called Moby Pick. When we got home we opened it and looked it over, but she didn’t want to play.

 
She was too busy sewing.

 
Mommy’s little larper in training. Now we just have to get her to understand that role-playing doesn’t involve telling the other people exactly what to say and do. I know. She’s four. This is normal.

 

As always we owe a huge thanks to our awesome friends who had a room connecting to ours and helped keep an eye on her so my husband and I could get to more games.

 

Until next month – happy gaming!

Game On!

